The world heritage in Norway consists of 7 separate locations. In addition to this four of the points from Struve’s Geodetic Arc that are based in Norway are inscribed onto the list. One of the Norwegian world heritage sites, the West Norwegian Fjords, spans three counties and six municipalities. The first Norwegian places inscribed onto the list in 1979 was the wharf Bryggen in Bergen and Urnes Stave Church, the latest to be inscribed was the Rjukan-Notodden Industrial Heritage Site in 2015.

Several Norwegian sites are currently under consideration for the list.

Norwegian World Heritage Sites:

The wharf, Bryggen i Bergen (1979)

Urnes Stave Church (1979)

The Mining Town of Røros (1980), the surrounding cultural landscape was added to the site in 2010

The Rock Art of Alta (1985)

The Vega Archipelago (2004)

The West Norwegian Fjords (2005), consisting of the Geiranger Fjord and the Nærøyfjord

Four points on Struve’s Geodetic Arc (2005)

Rjukan-Notodden Industrial Heritage Site (2015)

The website for Norwegian World Heritage can be found here.

Read more about our partners